Food | Tomato Soup.

DSC01139

I love nothing more than Tomato Soup, its probably one of my favourite things to have, whenever its on a menu in a resturant, I always get it. But it wasn’t until about 1 month ago that I decided to brave making it myself. (I have been living off of M&S Tomato Soup- still love!)

Now I feel like soup is one of the easiest things to make at home, and I’m kind of having a love affair with it in the kitchen at the moment. You little just boil vegetbles in broth for DSC0114130-60 minutes and then blend, I mean what’s not to love! I usually try and have soup for my lunch when I’m at home in the week, by making a big batch at the weekend and then just storing it in the fridge. It takes around 10 minutes to heat up on the day and volia! Soup to have while piled under History Books and essay writing.

Now for the Soup.

INGREDIENTS:

  1. Tablespoon of coconut oil (or cooking oil of your choice)
  2. 400 ml of vegetable stock or chicken stock
  3. Half a red onion.
  4. 1 crushed garlic clove (2 if they are small)
  5. Teaspoon for basil
  6. Dash of Oregano
  7. 2 carrot sticks
  8. 2 celery sticks
  9. 2 x400g cans of tinned chopped tomatos
  10. 6 fresh plum tomatos.
  11. Dash of Milk or Cream

Now for the METHOD:

  1. First by dicingΒ up the red onion, carrots and celery sticks.
  2. Then heat up 1 table spoon of coconut oil, and put in the red onion, carrot, celery, crushed garlic, basil and oregano and fry for 8-10 minutes.
  3. While the ingredients are frying chop up the plum tomatos and dissolve the stock cube in 400ml of boiling water. Everynow and then stir the vegetables around in the pan.
  4. Then add the 2 cans of tinned chopped tomatos, the fresh tomatos and the stock.
  5. Bring this to a simmer and let it simmer for 30 minutes.
  6. After 30 minutes, let the soup sit on the side for 15-20 minutes to call down slightly.
  7. Then start to add the soup to a blender and blend. (I usually do this in batches, so I know it is smooth and then I add it to a seperate bowl as I go along.
  8. Once the soup is in my storing dish I add a dash of milk or cream, just so it isn’t too thick.
  9. I then store it in the fridge and heat it up when I need.

I hope you enjoy the soup and recipe as much as I do.DSC01143

Leave a Reply

